Thank-you St. Patrick’s. Let’s get to work

Where to begin.

For starters – thank-you to every single friend, family member and resident who has given me support over the last 7 months (yeah, I’ve needed that much help and time :D).  I would try to name each and every person, but I’d forget someone and feel horrible about it, so I’ll cop out and do it as a group – you are awesome, and I never could have had such a good day yesterday without you.  A million times over, thank-you.

To the folks who trusted me enough to give me your vote – thank-you for that trust.  I will do everything in my power over the next 4 years to validate the decision you made.  I’ve been told a few times over the last few months that I’m going to have to be pretty hard-headed to effect the change we want at City Hall – I promise to be exactly that in winning over others to the vision we share about where St. Catharines has to go.

And to those who chose a candidate other than myself – thank-you for getting involved.  When you think I’m on the wrong track, let me know.  If there’s anything I truly enjoy, it’s a debate, and my opinion is always ‘swayable’ in the face of new information.  I hope that, over the course of the next 4 years, I can find common ground with all residents in the ward.  I aim to represent every person in St. Patrick’s to the best of my ability, and I want – and need – your opinion to do my job properly.

Time to get to work.

One comment

  1. Congratulations Mat,
    As a former city councillor for St. Pats I always have my ear to the ground so to speak. I was impressed by your platform and being open to new ideas. Also standing on the corner with your sign is a page taken from my campaign tatics. They say imitation is a form of flattery and I’m glad it worked for you! As you may or may not know, I am currently co-chair of PALZ (people advocating for leash free zones). We create much needed dog parks for our citizens. Heather Fyfe and I would like to bring you up to date sometime when you recuperate from your hard fought victory. Again congratulations.

Leave a Reply

