Great day for a Run!

I had the distinct pleasure of enjoying the warm weather this morning while out at the annual Rankin Cancer Run here in St. Catharines.  It was an absolutely spectacular day for a run along the Welland Canal in northeast St. Catharines, and the crowd definitely proved it:

A crowd shot before the run

Thousands of people out for the 1/5k walk/run.  Me being me, I had to run it and run it as hard as possible, which may have been a mistake given the distinct lack of run training I’ve been doing recently.  I still managed to clock a 27:07 for the 5k though, which wasn’t half bad.  I look a lot better in this picture than I actually felt at the end:

In between gasps

It was nice for me to finally be able to run this one – in past years I’ve either been in Ottawa for the ING Half-marathon, or I’ve been in Africa meeting my son.  The ability to raise money for an excellent cause is definitely a benefit to running it as well.

As a side-note, Xavier is totally getting into that kids race next year – I have no doubt he could compete!

Another beautiful day in Niagara – off to the Farmer’s Market downtown when X wakes up to get our veggies, and then maybe the beach for the rest of the day.

Leave a Reply

